Draft Minutes May 12 2014 Annual Election Meeting

Thanks to the  local organizations that came out to meet the neighbors and share information about their programs and services at the start of our meeting .

Refreshments were provided courtesy of Chapala Mexican Restaurant, Roberly Hearsch, and Len Epstein. David Saul played classical guitar during the the tabling period, his music was enjoyed by all.

Meeting convened  7:15 pm

Board members present:  Leonard Epstein, Emily Fox, Pavel Gubanhikin, Deborah Noble, David Saul,  Heather Sielicki (president)

Total attendance:  46

Public Announcements:

Dennis Hebert reminded us about the urgent fundraising effort underway for city acquisition of the Civic Stadium.  Visit the Freinds of Civic Stadium web site at http://www.savecivicstadium.org/

A neighbor announced the annual Open House at the Wayne Morse Farm on May 18 from 1 -4 pm. Visit their web site at http://www.waynemorse.org/

Heather announced upcoming events of interest

Board Reports

Pavel presented a complete accounting of SEN finances. View the presentation here.

Heather summarized SEN accomplishments over the year. We have expanded our focus  and we’re working to build  a sense of community and improve the neighborhood.

Deborah Noble announced that she had been informed that the City Council had unanimously authorized the City Manager to  submit a purchase offer for the Beverly (Deerbrook PUD)  property.

“Ideas for Creating Neighborhood Economy & Culture”  presentation by Ravi Logan

Ravi spoke about how his neighborhood is growing more resilient and interdependent  in several dimensions.  They have applied  permaculture designs such as rain water catchment and passive solar energy  in developing infrastructure to supply basic needs. They are growing more food locally and established a CSA to supply high quality garden starts to neighborhood gardens. They have undertaken projects to support and encourage human powered transportation. Presentation available without narration here.

Annual Elections

Heather Sielicki has accepted another term as Board  president.

Madronna Holden has returned to the board and was elected Vice President.

William Zwicker, Lealan Swanson, Leonard Epstein,  Deborah Hebert,  and Steve Chadick  were elected to serve 2 year  terms on the board.

The revised charter was approved.


Sue Liberty won a 1PASS card, good for admissions and discounts on Willamalane programs, SkateWorld, Timber Bowl, Eugene Emeralds games and unlimited LTD bus rides — all summer long. Roberly Hearsch and Sandy Weintraub won tickets to attend a special screening of “Growing Cities” or “Dreammakers.”

Meeting adjourned at 8:30pm.